mirror image*

Image

“i honestly don’t understand how you and (insert name of a friend here) became friends. they’re so not like you …”

i cannot tell you how many times i have heard the very same phrase from so many different people (friends, family, loves, co-workers). i can honestly say that i have probably heard it from everyone that i have introduced to a different social circle in my life. they’re so not like you…

mostly, i just smile and shrug it off. but lately, this statement has been hitting a nerve with me. not necessarily in a bad way, but more in a wake-up-and-pay-attention way.

i would like to think that i am an open book, out there for the world to see type of person. i would like to think that i don’t hide any of my personality for anyone, that i am a take it or leave it kind of gal. what do each of my social groups see, that I am not seeing …

after a few days of digging and thinking and ranting and raving, i believe i have come up with the best answer i could possibly come up with. I don’t think i hide or censor myself, I think a specific part of me comes out in each circle. all of the bits and pieces that make me who i am are still there, one just has the opportunity to come out and be the dominant feature. i think that feature is brought forward by the people i am surrounded by.

acting/college friends = social butterfly, a little loud, bright and bubbly

family = bubbly, happy and wickedly funny, but can be somewhat sensitive

co-workers = positive and confident

high school girls = the peace keeper, the confidante

best friend = a combination of all of the above, mixed in with a bit of problem solver and great listener

i think i am a mirror image of my friends, of what i see in them. i don’t hide, i reflect. in that reflection i grow and find new ways of making deeper connections with the ones i love most

3 thoughts on “mirror image*

  1. kira says:

    There is this notion in the world that we are one thing but in reality we have so many roles in life. It sounds to me that you know yourself pretty well and are keenly aware of what is going on. I love the notion of reflecting what we are around. I also like the design of your site, clean and crisp. great post.

Leave a Reply

